Happy Birthday Ornette Coleman

Ornette
for Ornette Coleman

you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
red sky
waves
crackling
like cellophane
whales
great blues
you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
your drummer
with winged hat
dancing
like Africa
violin fingers
“dancing
in your head”
you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
electronic tears
empty my chest breath flows
’round my belly
you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
storms
of primal language sheets
of nuclear satin gold
glyph curling
from your mouth
you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
you pierce my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
you eat my heart Ornette
& that & that
& that’s
alright Ornette alright

you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
harmelodies roar
from four guitars
your trumpet a laser
shatters their rhythmic
crystals
you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
Joujoukan horn your fingers
barely
moving
so fast light is left
gasping
you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
you name the stars
inside the heart the im-
ploding galaxies
you break my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
you pierce my heart Ornette
& that’s alright
you eat my heart Ornette
& that & that
& that’s alright Ornette alright
alright
alright

-first published in Mississippi Mud
included in “midnight the blues” poems by Frank Rossini from sight/for/sight books 2013

Leave a Reply

